Imagine the title being said by frankenstein once he completed making his stitched together, haphazard monster.   I feel like I have been cut apart and then put back together.  I was cut from my sternum clear to under my arm for the mastectomy, and then 3 incisions on my tummy for the hysterectomy.  Just in time for Halloween! 

    Yes, I am still alive, and recovering from surgery.  I survived!!!!  I feel a little like a spoiled child with all the presents I have received.  Thank you everyone for all of your flowers and balloons and gifts and treats.  I have been just giddy getting presents and flowers almost every single day since surgery.  Thank you!!!  Once I get feeling a little bit better, I will load some pictures of all the pretty flowers. 
    So anyway, here is a breakdown of all the fun I have been having the last 12 days.  I had a laprascopic hysterectomy and modified radical mastectomy.  I was swollen like a balloon, and black and blue from collar bone to pelvic bone.  The first couple of days I couldn't even feed myself!  I spent 2 nights in the hospital (on the same floor as all of the new moms and babies...boy I was sure glad I wasn't going to have to take care of a baby when I got home...every other time I have spent the night at the hospital it was when I had had a baby)  It hurt so bad to get up and I was pretty miserable for a while there. 
    For the first couple days while I was home the kids stayed at various family members homes so I could just rest and sleep.  That was heavenly!  Our house was so quiet.  I lived in my recliner.  I am now up and moving around more, and I didn't even have to take any pain medicine today.  Ask me a week ago, and I probably would have told you that I would never be off the pain meds.  I even went and voted today!!!! 
     On another note, I have declared independence from my hats and scarves and wigs.  If you see me out and about, you will probably encounter me with just my lovely peach fuzz.  My hair is really growing in nice now...  Caleb told me the other day, "Mom I think you should wear your wig because people who don't know you will think you are a boy."  Out of the mouths of babes!  They tell it how it is. 
     I received my pathology report from surgery.  They found a couple of spots of cancer left in my breast, tiny really, compared to how much cancer there was before surgery.  The two spots they found were .7cm and .9cm.  The down side of this, is it looks like I will have to have radiation. I was really hoping to get out of it, but it doesn't look like I will.
    I had my first of weekly Herceptin only today.  It was so much easier to just have herceptin and Zometa, and no more taxol.  Dr. Hanson recommended that I do weekly Herceptin instead of the triple dose every three weeks until we know whether the Herceptin can keep the cancer at bay well enough by itself.  I also am supposed to start a drug called Aromasin today, which is a daily pill that will make it so my adrenal glands no longer convert fat to estrogen.  All of these matienence treatments are to keep the cancer from growing and keep me alive forever.  That is the goal anyway.
    One more thought before I end this rambling, just in case anyone was wondering,  I lost 2.19 pounds from having my breast removed.  Hardest weight loss you could ever imagine......  I don't recommend it.
Here are the pictures........

This picture is pre surgery in my cute new pink jammies with monkeys on them.  I am holding the most adorable beanie baby bear with cute pink ribbons.


This is me in the hospital the day after surgery.  See, I told you I was swollen like a balloon.  I think this is one of the worst pictures of me ever taken, but then again, I think this is the worst I have ever looked in my life!


These are some pictures of the wonderful gifts I received at the hospital and once I was home. They have just brought me so much enjoyment!!!!!!


Melissa Morgan
11/7/2007 03:56:49 am

Amber, I think you are amazing! I just wanted you to know we love you. You have been in our prayers and we will keep you there! (I like the fuzzy head)

Reply
Ann
11/8/2007 01:47:00 pm

I finally visited your webpage. You are so totally incredible. I find tons of strength in how you so handle this amazing trial. Keep hanging in there. You are definetly in my top ten women list! Always in my prayers. Love ya lots Ann

Reply
Laura
11/30/2007 01:56:58 pm

Amber,

What a woman you are! Thank you for recording what you are experiencing, your words give me strength. Your courage has touched my heart. Please know you are loved.
Love, Laura

Reply
Laura
11/30/2007 01:56:59 pm

Amber,

What a woman you are! Thank you for recording what you are experiencing, your words give me strength. Your courage has touched my heart. Please know you are loved.
Love, Laura

Reply
Laura
11/30/2007 01:56:59 pm

Amber,

What a woman you are! Thank you for recording what you are experiencing, your words give me strength. Your courage has touched my heart. Please know you are loved.
Love, Laura

Reply
Laura
11/30/2007 01:57:00 pm

Amber,

What a woman you are! Thank you for recording what you are experiencing, your words give me strength. Your courage has touched my heart. Please know you are loved.
Love, Laura

Reply
Laura
11/30/2007 01:57:09 pm

Amber,

What a woman you are! Thank you for recording what you are experiencing, your words give me strength. Your courage has touched my heart. Please know you are loved.
Love, Laura

Reply
4/13/2011 05:04:44 pm

If you wish to be the best man, you must suffer the bitterest of the bitter.

Reply
7/23/2012 04:16:57 pm

The reason on-line retailers lower their louis vuitton handbags cost is as a result of the stiff competition plus the truth that they have lesser overhead expenses to pay for. Bare in mind though that you can find some dangers in on the net shopping that you will have to be cautious about. For one, look for a reputable online shop that sells only the highest quality products.

Reply



Leave a Reply.