Today I thought I would share a day in the life of radiation treatment.  My appointment is at 6:45 am, so I have to leave between 5:45 and 6:00 depending on the weather.  I drive 25 miles to the hospital, park, walk in, go to the radiation oncology office, and change into a hospital gown.   Then because I am the first appointment of the day, the tech usually takes me right back to the machine.  I lay on this hard table with my arms in these brackets, and this big machine, kind of like an x-ray machine, moves above and radiates the different treatment areas. They are radiating from my collar bone to bottom of rib cage, and from my sternum to armpit.  The treatment takes about 15 minutes.  Then I change and drive home.  The whole process takes about 2 hours.  I do this Monday-Friday, for 6 weeks. 

So far so good, no real side effects to report.  I am a little stiff and sore from laying on that hard table, and having my arms stretched up hurts the muscles from the mastectomy side, but that is all.  The Dr. said it would be a couple of weeks before I should feel any side effects. 

I can't believe Christmas is in 2 weeks.  I haven't wrapped any presents or done any shopping.  It feels really weird.  At least it snowed on Friday, so it FEELS and LOOKS like Christmas.  I love listening to Christmas music and enjoying my festive house.   It has been nice to just enjoy the Christmas season without all of the stress of running around everywhere. 

I need to share one more experience that happened last week.

A group of wonderful women, angels, came over to my house on Thursday to watch my 2 little ones and do "a little cleaning."  They arranged for me to go shopping with friends and out to lunch.  It was so fun to get out of the house with the girls and laugh and shop. 

Then, when I got home, my house had been totally cleaned, DEEP cleaned, from top to bottom.  All of these projects that probably haven't been done 6 months, they took care of in the 5 hours I was gone.  Bathrooms scrubbed, fridge inside and out cleaned, floors cleaned, blinds washed, vacuumed all of the corners and behind furniture.  Windows washed, furniture dusted, front porch swept, walls washed, kids rooms cleaned and organized and beds made, laundry washed and folded, dinner prepared....  AMAZING!!!  I just walked around all the house and cried after they left.  The house looked SO GOOD!!!!!  Then they had someone come and clean the carpets on Friday.  Words can not express how grateful we are.  I have been so discouraged because I can't do deep cleaning.  After being tired and sick and sore, I am physically unable to do so many things I would like to do.  It is just amazing the service that was shown to me and my family.  (Now if I can only get my kids to keep it clean for longer than an hour!!!!!)


We are truly blessed.  I am so grateful for people who listen to the spirit, and are so willing to serve and follow Christ's example. 

Matt
12/11/2007 11:02:50 am

That was a great post, Amber. I really appreciated finding out more about the process that you have to endure every day. Hope all is well...

Reply
9/19/2010 10:28:04 am

“You don't understand! I could a had class. I could a been a contender. I could've been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am.” <<On the Waterfront>>

Reply
5/15/2012 06:14:40 pm

Thank you reveal this article, compose seriously is extremely wonderful

Reply
5/15/2012 06:15:37 pm

I like your articles, hoped later on to determine much more of this type of a fantastic write-up

Reply



Leave a Reply.