Hello Everyone!  It’s Dan again.

Every time I post anything on this blog I feel like I am on hallowed ground.  I kind of feel an initial exhilaration about writing something on a site that so many people love, about someone so many people love.  I quickly come back down to earth and feel like a guy with sausage fingers trying to play chopsticks in a great concert hall on an amazing grand piano.   

Amber is doing pretty well.  She has good days and bad days.  Her good days are when the pain is controlled and she has energy to do things that she wants to do.  I want to be clear.  The definition of controlled pain and energy to do things is not the same for most of us as it is for Amber.  Being more specific the new medications she is on put the pain well below the debilitating level and below the level where its all you can think about.  She does still feel pain depending on what she is doing its just that it does not keep her from doing many things.  Amber has been in pain at varying degrees for so long having it down at this level probably seems very liberating.  Also having more energy to Amber is different from how you and I would think.  Having more energy means she can more effectively do 3-6 hours of activity that she deems most important to her that day.  If she does this for a couple of days she usually is completely worn out and sleeps most of the next day.  

Example: On Friday our Amber’s brother’s wife Kara came up to make lunch, visit, and finish a craft project with Amber.  Amber and I went on an over night get away later that afternoon (nice dinner and overnight at a nice bed and breakfast).  We came back Saturday around 1:00PM.  Amber rested for awhile and then we took the kids to the new Night at the Museum movie at the local theater.  She slept for another couple of hours and was completely out of it.  I did take her to a dinner they were having at the church that evening but I should have just let her sleep.  Sunday morning she could not even get out of bed without getting dizzy and sick.  She almost always goes to church for sacrament meeting but could not do it yesterday.  She slept until about 3:00PM and came down to her recliner to be around the kids for awhile.  Even this morning (Monday) she still does not feel well enough to be up and around for more activity.  

The good is that she can do the things she did Friday and Saturday.  I guess it’s also good that her bad days do not usually include being deathly ill.  She is just too tired to stay awake. 

What tremendous blessings we have experienced!  I am so grateful for the Lord’s mercy in allowing her to still be able to do the things she can do even after having aggressive, late-stage, cancer for well over two years.  I find it interesting that when some facet of this trial changes we wonder, “Oh no what are we going to do”?  Or “how are we going to handle this”?  But the answer always ends up being the same.  It just takes a few days or weeks of hand wringing for us to realize it.  Faith in Jesus Christ and his atonement, his mercy, his love, and his power to heal us is always the answer.  Sometimes he heals our bodies as a result of our faith filled pleas, other times it is not His will.  I know that healing our hearts and souls is always His will.  He stands ready and waiting for us to ask in faith.  

We have been so blessed that many people have been inspired by the love of God to act on our behalf.  They have truly “strengthened the weakened knees and lifted the hands that hang down”.  Our families, ward and community have been so kind and have made great burdens lighter.  We thank you and love you with all of our hearts.  Who knew Chopsticks was such a long song J

 

Mary
6/2/2009 12:59:37 am

Amber and your family are in my prayers. She is amazingly lucky to have someone who cares about her so much as you do. You are wonderful and remember to take care of yourself too.

Reply
Janice
6/2/2009 05:56:58 am

Dan and Amber, Thank you for sharing this amazing journey that you and your family are going through. The highs and lows, the struggles and triumphs-it gives strength to me and to others.
How blessed you are to have the Savior in your lives. I read an article that talked about how we are blessed by our Savior's love and that He keeps us always "in the hollow of His hand". Take care and God Bless!

P.S. Dan-Chopin would be proud!

Reply
Katie Chase
6/2/2009 04:14:38 pm

This site is hallowed ground for me. I have come to expect that as I read this blog, I will feel closer to God. I more fully appreciate the gift of life, the gift of family and friends, and the gift of being part of your family, and I think I grow a little more each time I am on here. It really helps me keep life in perspective. Thanks to both Dan and Amber for all your blog entries.

Reply
Debbie
6/2/2009 08:22:56 pm

My name is Debbie...i, too, am LDS and have just came across your blog and although i do not suffer from cancer or have kids, i have had musculr dystrophy 41 years and have died 4 times--crossed the viel. My mom and both sisters had MD, on vetilators and bedridden. My mom passed in june 2006 and my younger sister in 2007, and by the grace of Heavenly Father I've seen them both in their joyous state of freedom and Amber dear, they are closer to me than ever! You are a polar star for me and many! In my personal introspections, i have no doubt we agreed to this mission--1. to bring glory to our Heavenly Father and Son; 2.to gain the mind of Christ;3. to acquaint ourself o the Savior;4. to be more like heavenly Mother and therefore, godesses and 5. to one day sit among the holy ones. I know you feel the same way.
My sister, haveno fear...your family will continue t be rotected and watched over when your time to leave behind this cacoon and continue your flight! God has all things in order sister--not only for you but your husband and kids. As we know, He's made provisions for all things.
One scripture verse i love is ALMA 33:11
Forgive my chattering. You will all be in my prayers.
FEAR NOT, DOUBT NOT!
Thank you for helping me keep counting my blessings.

Your sister,
Debbie

Reply
Vickie
6/3/2009 01:07:17 am

I don't know quite how to respond after reading the last comment. That was beautiful! And Dan, you are wonderful and also have a great gift for words. I've never left a comment because I just learned how, but I look up your blog everyday,(love the inspiration!) pray for you and your family daily, and I know you are in your Savior's constant care. I've heard Dan refer to Mosiah 24 often. In verse 15 it says,"They did submit patiently and cheerfully to the will of the Lord." That is the key to enduring to the end and you have both been superb examples of this. To save space, I will just tell you 2 of my favorites, 2 Cor. 12:9-10, and 2 Tim. 4:7-8. You have fought a good fight and most importantly kept the faith and there is a crown of righteouness waiting for you. All is well! I have been so grateful to my husband who has been my anchor, support, and caretaker with my 24 years of M.S. He works 3 jobs, then takes me to the gym and gets 0 rest. I thought he was a marvelous work and a wonder (showersme, blow dries my hair, bathroom needs, etc.) but Dan I watch how tenderly and sweetly you watch over Amber. I know how much she appreciates and loves you. You also quote the scripture Pres. Hinckley said in his 1st talk as Pres. of the Church, "strengthen the feeble knees and lift the hands that hang down...doubt not, fear not." You have both done that for others with your strong testimonies. Even though we don't like the trials given us, I know you feel like me when I say that I wouldn't change anything because of the relationship you gain with each other and most especially with your Savior and your Father in Heaven. Those angels are round about you! Love Vickie













Reply
Heather
6/3/2009 04:14:39 am

Thank you Dan for taking the time to write something for everyone who checks this blog. I know it is hard for Amber to do now and I am sure that she wants to and really appreciates that you have updated with an entry for her, and one that is not from her perspective. She is so humble and optimistic and a great example to all of us.

I am so grateful to know that when she does leave us to go home that the children will have such a strong testimony of where their mother now is and this is because of the time you have taken as a priesthood holder of your family to put priority on things such as family prayer and scripture study. Your children will be more prepared than many of us and will do great and marvelous things because the teachings of Christ have always been a part of your home. I am 100% sure they will know that they can find comfort through prayer any time that they need it. They have been so blessed to have a mother such as Amber and she is such an example to all of us. I find some comfort in my faith that we will not be tried more than we can handle when I think of you and the trails to come with 5 small children to raise and care for. Knowing that you will turn to the Lord with any help you will need gives me hope that you will not be lost. The kids will have their own personal guardian angel watching out for them and knowing Amber she will not rest a minute of her time away from all of us.
Love, Heather

Reply
Ann
6/4/2009 11:32:55 am

I can't say it any better than the dear friends and family before. The only thing I will tell you is that I love you all. :) And my prayers are continuously with you.

Reply
Dawn
6/6/2009 05:01:33 am

Well done thou good and faithful servant. You have been such a fighter and I know you will continue to be to the very end. In my room I have a pillow that says "No Regrets". I am sure you don't. You have lived your life beautifully. These last few years you have changed the hearts of many and have been such a loving example. I really love and admire you. Take care. Love, Dawn

Reply
Melanie G
6/7/2009 02:06:50 pm

Thanks so much both of you for sharing this journey here on the blog. I think of you often and pray for you. I really liked your thoughts especially this quote, "Sometimes he heals our bodies as a result of our faith filled pleas, other times it is not His will. I know that healing our hearts and souls is always His will. He stands ready and waiting for us to ask in faith. "..... I too know this to be true. Love you guys!

Reply
2/29/2012 03:33:15 pm

for the blend. According to ,just about Of sixteen percent nfl custom jerseys connected with version selects within the last Decade didn't take part in the particular merge."I must disclose that had been amongst my goals,nonetheless

Reply
4/4/2012 01:20:03 pm

Referring to one pair of sneakers, we have to think over their capacity. It is no exaggeration to say that <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">cool grey 11</a> is the most suitable for wearing casually and playing basketball, <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan 11 cool grey</a> were eventually released in 2001 and re-retro'd in 2009 with the nickname "<a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan space jams</a>". Another version of the XI's were released on December 23, 2010 called the "<a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan cool grey</a>".the <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan cool grey 11</a> has very strong ground control. which is also one of the best capacity with perfectly understandable. If every pair of shoes has its own soul, undoubtedly, the <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan 11</a> concord is the most respect ones for me. <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">jordan retro 11</a> was released in 2010 and had patent leather. which appeared in the playoffs firstly in early 1994. At that time, there are two version of this pair, one of which is the black / white color way, and we called it <a href="http://www.jordancoolgrey11.net">Jordan 11 Space Jam</a> for being worn by Jordan playing movie.

Reply
5/4/2012 05:14:52 pm

linjianxuan20120505
Never let yourself be another person's option. You are worth so much more. Believe that!!

Reply
5/29/2012 06:05:13 pm

Your point is valueble for me. Thanks!

Reply
6/2/2012 03:35:39 am

Ok. I believe you are appropriate!

Reply
6/4/2012 11:56:55 pm

That is some inspirational stuff. Never knew that thoughts might be this varied. Many thanks for all of the enthusiasm to offer such beneficial data right here.

Reply
6/10/2012 08:49:24 pm

It really is good to possess the capacity to examine a great high quality article with practical specifics on topics that plenty are interested on. The stage that the information indicated are all first hand on reside experiences even guide a lot more. Proceed performing what you do as we really like readi?-

Reply
6/20/2012 03:23:38 am

Incredibly cool! I assistance your view!

Reply
6/21/2012 03:42:42 pm

Me and my friend were arguing about an problem similar to this! Now I realize that I had been correct. lol! Thank you for that information you article.

Reply
6/26/2012 12:24:06 am

I admire the valuable info you offer you inside your articles. I'll bookmark your website and have my kids examine up the following typically. I am really confident they will understand a lot of new stuff below than anybody else!

Reply
6/29/2012 05:48:07 am

As usual this was a thoughtful submit today. You make me want to preserve coming back and forwarding it my followers?-.

Reply
7/30/2012 09:01:28 pm

I wants to thank you with the endeavors you have produced in publishing this article. I am trusting the same greatest work from you within the future as well. In fact your fanciful writing abilities has inspired me to start my own weblog now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your generate up is a fine example of it.Thanks yet again for discussing this cost-free on the web!

Reply
8/1/2012 10:30:31 pm

One of the best sites for relevant facts on this niche !?!

Reply
8/16/2012 07:36:33 pm

Do you already know about the Chanel Handbags? Have you been coach outlet acquainted with probably Chanel Bags the most beautiful and revolutionary Coach Factory Outlet? If not, then allow us inform you louis vuitton outlet dears they are undoubtedly coach outlet store among probably the most prestigious sorts of Chanel Purses purses in the around the earth Michael Kors Purses market today. When we talk about the women's beauty, Chanel 2012 would stand among probably the most effective coach outlet store online purses indisputably. They are beautifulCoach Factory Outlet Online, ground-breakingMichael Kors Bags, lovingcoach handbags , and caring Louis Vuitton Outlet Online purses at all.

Reply
8/16/2012 07:39:48 pm

Do you already know about the Chanel Handbags? Have you been coach outlet acquainted with probably Chanel Bags the most beautiful and revolutionary Coach Factory Outlet? If not, then allow us inform you louis vuitton outlet dears they are undoubtedly coach outlet store among probably the most prestigious sorts of Chanel Purses purses in the around the earth Michael Kors Purses market today. When we talk about the women's beauty, Chanel 2012 would stand among probably the most effective coach outlet store online purses indisputably. They are beautifulCoach Factory Outlet Online, ground-breakingMichael Kors Bags, lovingcoach handbags , and caring Louis Vuitton Outlet Online purses at all.

Reply



Leave a Reply.