One of the best lines from the movie Kindergarten Cop is when Arnold Schwarzeneger has a headache from the noisy school kids, and one of the kids tells him, "It's a tumor." and Arnold says "It's not a tu-mor" in his accent.  Well, I have had lots of headaches, and joke around and say "It's not a tu-mor."  But this time, it IS a tumor.  Dang it.

When I had my scans done in June, the new tumor growth didn't match the rise of the tumor markers.  Then when my tumor markers did another huge jump, my doctor was concerned that I may have something growing in my brain.  I have been having localized pain in my head, and some blurry vision in my left eye, and pressure behind my eye.  I have also had a little bit of dizziness, and nausea.  Once again because I don't like to worry people, or complain, and just want to believe that my symptoms were all in my head (no pun intended) I didn't tell anyone.  Not even the doctor. 

Anyway, I had a brain MRI on Tuesday August 5th, and then got the dreaded phone call from my doctor at 6:09 p.m. on Wednesday August 6th.  I do indeed have a brain tumor.  That is the bad news.  The good news is that there is only one, it is relatively small at 1.5 cm, and it is in a easily treatable spot. I will have a procedure called gamma-knife when I get home from vacation.  It is basically a high dose targeted radiation treatment to the tumor.  Because it is targeted, it limits damage to healthy brain tissue. 

I will update everyone once I know more, but know that we are doing just fine.  We have been enjoying sunny St. George.  I've been doing lots of resting and relaxing, and swimming, scrapbookin, game playing, and enjoying family time.  We also were able to visit the St. George temple on Friday for a temple session, and then we took the kids there on Sunday evening.  Bad news is easier to deal with when you keep an eternal perspective.

We are going to see The Sound Of Music tonight at the Tuacahn outdoor theater.  We are all really excited for that.  I have taken lots of pictures and will post some when I get back home. 




Ann
8/11/2008 07:50:49 am

Amber,
You are an amazing strong woman!!!! I know that you have definitely more than your share of dark hours but you rarely show the negative. Because of you I see the simple things of life and rejoice in them. Especially the "terrible twos". I more than anything find humor in Andrew's little independence. You are an inspiration to me. We are all praying for you, the kids most definitely keep you in everyone of their prayers - even at meal times. Hang in there. I am available to help. Just so you know ....I love you!!! Ann ;-)

Reply
Marci
8/13/2008 01:00:56 pm

Amber,
You are so strong & faithful and will get through this. I have read and re-read your barium sulfate post...we are going in tomorrow! Thanks for sharing your journey with everyone.
Marci

Reply
Michelle
8/13/2008 07:00:52 pm

I have a friend who makes Fairy's and I see you like them:) I would love to send you one from the U.K.
Please EMail me.
God Bless You x x x

Reply
7/31/2012 04:37:33 pm

Your blog is beautiful thank you very much for your share.You can also to look at my home page maybe have what you like.

Reply



Leave a Reply.