Hello dear family and friends!  Our family has been lost in our own little world the last little while.  The kids escape to school and I escape to work for 5 hours day but other than that we are here together at home.  Awareness of world events, sporting events, or extra school activities is very low.  This morning I was making fresh peach pancakes with Bekah and she asked if I remembered when we used to jam out to our favorite music while cooking breakfast and cleaning house Saturday mornings before Amber got sick.  We used to dance around, sing the songs at the top of our lungs, and happily accomplish just barely more than zero between breakfast and lunch even though we were supposedly doing chores.  She went on mixing ingredients.  She is so cute in the kitchen she is predictably careful and exact.  If you know Bekah, you know what I mean.  She left me marveling at how infrequently I find myself thinking about how things used to be before cancer (BC). 

I consider it one of the Lord's tender mercies that I am not missing the sweet parts about NOW by being a slave to what once was.  Many people focus on what cancer has taken away from them and others.  I believe that the Lord has helped me to focus on now which naturally allows me to focus more on His blessings and having gratitude for what he has given me now.

It's amazing that in the laboratory of life experience the Lord chooses clinical experiences for us that are bitter and some that are sweet so that we will learn to desire the sweet.  Neal A. Maxwell explained, “The sharp, side-by-side contrast of the sweet and the bitter is essential until the very end of this brief, mortal experience.”  If you and I walk in wisdom's paths we will learn what methods and processes in life lead us to experience lasting peace, joy, and happiness no matter what is going on in our lives.  The more experience the truly wise have with that side-by-side contrast of bitter and sweet, the less likely we are to take short cuts that lead to that which is fleeting and not fulfilling. 

On Monday, September 21st Amber passed her 5 month anniversary since her last chemo treatment.  When she went on hospice I remember her saying, "now I am really in the Lord's hands".  When she put herself in the Lord's hands if you had asked her if she would expect to be alive in 5 months I think she would have been no more than cautiously optimistic but not really hopeful.  Amber is sleeping a lot now and she gets a little frustrated because she does not like to, as she puts it, "sleep her life away".  She has days where she is not able to stay awake for more than a few minutes at a time even sitting up in her recliner.  Other days she is able to stay awake for eight hours strait in her recliner with only a little dozing.  She had an especially tough week the week of her 31st birthday (September 14-19th).  She was fighting some sort of infection and was fevered and feeling really yucky.  Its a good thing we had the huge, wonderful party 10 days before.  The fever has gone away and so did the infection.  Amber is declining slowly as each week  passes.  She is getting weaker, sleeps more, and eats less,  I don't know how much longer she will be here.  I have left that firmly in the Lord's hands.  The hospice team takes such good care of Amber and all of us that we could not ask for more.  We love and appreciate Carol and Sean from hospice for the loving care they give.  Amber's days are filled with comfortable rest interrupted by an occasional fist fight between kids.  If she has pain day or night or even on the weekends that her pump is not covering Carol or one of the on call nurses are quick to come help.  All I hope for at this time in Amber's life is that she have her pain managed, be able to rest comfortably, and feel the Lord's peace. 

I want to express with all my heart how grateful I am for the loving kindness of everyone.  I want to thank our angel mothers for their consistent presence in our lives and the great care.  I want to thank the army of ladies from church who bring wonderful meals to my family.  What a burden you lift!  Also our dear friend Dan Peck for the days and days that he has spent in our yard pulling weeds and trimming things.  It would be a beautiful mess instead of just beautiful without him.  I want to thank everyone for the loving cards given to Amber at her party and sent pretty much every day since.  She is so appreciative of your love and thoughtfulness.  I also want to thank Amber's friends from the breast cancer community.  None of you know Amber in a traditional sense but you show love and concern for her in very real ways.  The beautiful floral arrangement and cards from many of you for her birthday was especially appreciated.  I thank the Lord for his mercy and grace in our lives each day!  I truly stand all amazed.  . 


















9/26/2009 01:49:38 pm

Thank you for your true words of wisdom, It is comforting to see your strength you have for your family, that you are graced by so many people that love and care for each and everyone of you. Amber gives me so much strength. I think of her, you and your children very often. Many gentle hugs being sent your way.

Reply
Tonya
9/27/2009 01:16:56 pm

May God continue to give Amber, you and your children the grace and peace to go through this trial. I am praying for all of you.

Reply
9/27/2009 01:26:26 pm

Thank you for the update. I have been thinking of Amber and your family so often and just asked someone at church today for an update. THANK YOU! I cherish your words of wisdom and I cherish the example you have become to me. You have touched my life in so many ways and I am a better person for knowing you and your family. Bless sweet dear Amber! I love her dearly and share a special bond with her when I look into her eyes. I know Heavenly Father is there waiting with open arms to take away her pain and suffering.
Keep hold of the faith!
You are in my prayers!
Love, Carol Pyle

Reply
Diane
9/28/2009 12:31:38 pm

Dan and Amber,

Thank you both for your amazing strength, grace, love, faith and the list goes on and on. I "met" Amber on the bc.org site the first day I visited the site after being diagnosed with IBC. Daily, I find myself thinking, what would Amber do. I have guilt that I am 2 years out from diagnosis and cancer free when I read her website. I marvel at your faith and pray that I will be able to find the faith and strength that you both have. You are an inspiration to the human race. I can not imagine how difficult it will be to say goodbye but I know you will all be okay. Amber has built such a strong foundation for her kids of love, faith and family. They will always know how much she loved them. I will keep you all in my prayers and pray that Amber's final journey is peaceful.

Diane

Reply
Katie Chase
9/28/2009 01:19:37 pm

The growth I have seen in each member of your family as you have experienced this trial is amazing. Your testimonies have all deepened and grown firmer. People are not only watching Amber, but Dan and the children, and you are all rising to the occasion by leaning on the Lord. Thanks to all of you for being such an inspiration to me and to so many others. LOVE YOU ALL.

Reply
9/29/2009 08:23:14 am

Dear Dan & Amber.
We have never met in the traditional sense, but I've become acquainted with the two of you thru your writings. What a legacy.

It is such an honor to read of your journey. Thru tears I attempt to assemble words to say thank you.

Dan, may you grasp the gift that you give the BC community by sharing from your heart, sharing from your kitchen, sharing from your reading & study.

I pray that our compassionate Heavenly Healer will hold you all safely in His divine hands and carry you. We are here for you. Praying and holding hands for Amber's well being.

Bless you. Bless these moments. Catalogue & treasure them. Hold them softly in your hearts.

Strength and courage.
Strength and courage.
Strength and courage.
xx00xx00xx00xx00xx00xx

Reply
Kristi (formerly Chase) Neeleman
9/29/2009 10:00:15 am

Hey Dan.
Please let me be one of the hundreds who read each day or week or month or year about your struggles with Cancer and your and triumphs with Amber. Your mom filled me in last we met and I've been keeping track since that time.
I hope for her passing to be gentle and for your sorrow to be lessened (slightly) knowing you were her Iron Rod and she yours.
Love you always as a nephew,
Kristi

Reply
Kristen
9/30/2009 01:22:04 am

Dan, tell Amber I love her and think of her often! I want to come visit with her for a few moments, I will call and ask when is good!

Thanks Kristen

Reply
10/1/2009 12:49:00 pm

Dan and Amber - First off, I love you. Thank you for sharing your personal cancer journey in such a way that many people have been able to connect with you two on multiple levels. I still remember the first time I met you both- at TGI Fridays on a random night when I looked and saw that me and Amber had matching fuzzy hair. I'm so grateful for that brief introduction that allowed me to follow your life journey. I know the journey will continue into the eternities and for that I am truly grateful. Thank you for sharing your life and testimony with me and so many others.

God bless,

Ginger
Young Survivor Sisters

Reply
Joyce
10/2/2009 02:17:58 pm

Amber,

You were the 1st to respond to me on the BC boards when I posted. My mom had been diagnosed with IBC and I was SO afraid. You really helped put my mind at ease when I was most afraid. I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you! May your days be filled with the joy and peace and please know that although we have never met, you and your story have touched me deeply.

With Thanks, Love and Admiration,

Jadai

Reply
Pat Medell
10/3/2009 03:48:18 am

Amber,
You are a dear, dear friend. I love you and please know my prayers are with you and your family. Love, Pat Medell

Reply
10/4/2009 11:34:53 pm

Dear Dan and Amber;

May God continue to bless you both as you face his final journey together. I pray for peace as you go through this difficult time with your family.

Dan...I am just as amazed by you as I am by Amber sharing her story with so many women with breast cancer.

In her final days I wish you all comfort and peace.

With many blessings and prays God will hold her in the palm of his hands.

Vita Jankowski

Reply
Shery
10/5/2009 06:48:17 am

Dan and Amber
I just want you guys to know that I love you and really admire your faith. I am thankful for you testimony of the gospel and your willingness to share it.

Reply
Vickie Harkness
10/7/2009 12:47:48 am

I mentioned that I wanted to send you more lyrics to another song that I just love. It was sung at Pres. Hinckley's funeral and the tab choir just happened to sing it Sunday morning on the Spoken Word before conference began. I had just finally gotten the complete words Friday night, and then when they sang it, it was the frosting on the cake. Again, it is so much more powerful with the music, but here are the lyrics and hopefully you can find the music and just play it. It is so peaceful and uplifting. It is by Issac Watts and is called, "My Shepherd Will Supply My Need", based on the 23rd Psalm. "My Shepherd will supply my need; Jehovah is His name. In pastures fresh He makes me feed beside the living stream. He brings my wond'ring spirit back when I forsake His ways, And leads me for His mercy's sake in paths of truth and grace. When I walk thru the shades of death, Thy presence is my stay. One word of Thy supporting breath draws all my fears away. Thy hand in sight of all my foes doth still my table spread. My cup of blessings overflows; Thine oil anoints my head. The sure provisions of my God attend me all my days. Oh, may thy house be mine abode and all my work be praise. There would I find a settled rest while others go and come. No more a stranger nor a guest, but like a child at home." I also love , "The Test", by Janice Kapp Perry, "I Know That My Redeemer lives", and "Rock of Ages" although put to a different musical setting than what is in the hymnal. One phrase is"...when I close my eyes in death and behold Thee on thy throne.", which we know, Amber, you will do because you lived your life so valiantly. I remember Elder Bruce R. McConkie in the talk he gave just days before he died of cancer. The exact date would have been April 6th, 1985. He said something to the effect,...Soon I will see Him and wet His feet with my tears, but I will not know anymore then, than I know now, that He lives and is my Savior. I should have looked up the exact quote before I typed this, but I know Amber and Dan that your testimonies are what have gotten you and your family through this trial, and that is a blessing. I bear my witness as well and say again, "All is Well!!" You will always be a shining example to me and countless others of this testimony and I thank you and will continue to pray for you both and your children and extended family. Love, Vickie

Reply
10/7/2009 02:41:10 am

May the Lord bless you all and give the peace required. Your sharing of your faith has been a inspiration to us all.

Reply
9/5/2010 10:34:54 am

If u love someone, u will know everything about her without asking her; if u don't love someone, u will forget everything even if she told u everything.

Reply
9/20/2010 01:42:01 pm

Among thousands of people, you meet those you've met. Through thousands of years, with the boundlessness of time, you happen to meet them, neither earlier nor a bit too late.

Reply
9/27/2010 11:14:20 am

Every night in my dreams
I see you, I feel you,
That is how I know you go on

Reply
10/4/2010 01:06:26 pm

Accidentally come here, I am incomparable to enjoy myself when i appreciate your beautiful article from my deep heart!

Reply
10/13/2010 11:27:09 am

Fortune never helps the man whose courage fails. We need courage in our life, then we can reach a success.

Reply
10/26/2010 07:57:11 pm

Cosmic beautiful, Because the love of god, Flowers are beautiful, Because of love, The sky is greenery is beautiful, Because BaiYunZhi love, Earth is beautiful, Because the love of friends! My good wishes, Through the space sent to you!

Reply
11/4/2010 01:12:44 pm

Sweet accompany you all through the year every day, Warm with you spend one day in every hour, Peace with you through temporarily in every minute, Happiness accompany you spend a points in every second.

Reply
1/13/2011 04:40:01 pm

Nice effort man. You simply created the whole of scene and traversed me to the location in person. However, I was a bit bored by the time I reached the conclusion part. Maybe you can write a bit shorter articles. What say??

Reply
2/22/2011 10:27:44 am

It was a incredibly pleasant notion! Just wanna say thank you for that data you will have shared nice sport footwear. Just carry on writing this type of post

Reply
3/28/2011 12:17:33 pm


<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">asics </a>

<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">asics gel</a>
<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">asics shoes</a>
<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">onitsuka tiger</a>
<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">asics running shoes</a>
<a href="http://www.asicsolympics.com/">asics onitsuka</a>

Reply
4/7/2011 12:52:02 pm

ne.", which we know, Amber, you will do because you lived your life so valiantly. I remember Elde Styler</a>
<a href="http://www.ghdhair.us/red-ghd-iv-styler-c-15.html">Red GHD IV Styler</a>r Bruce R. McConkie in the talk he gave just days before he died of cancer. The exact date would have been April 6th, 1985. He said something to the effect,...Soon I will see Him and wet His feet with my tears, but I will not know anymore then, than I know now, that He lives and is my

Reply
6/12/2011 08:53:59 pm

Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose

Reply
2/19/2012 04:17:14 pm

<strong><a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats</a></strong> ports let you share mixes by daisy-chaining headphones,so others can you hear it in their cans.The
<a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats by dre</a> closed-back design provides long-lasting comfort and a high degree of natural. orange beats are the most widely used type of headsets of today.Although there are many other types with their own specific specialties and functions, orange beats seem to have branded the former at the top of their list.The <strong><a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats by dre </a></strong>headphones have a smaller,lighter design than their big brother,but offer sound quality that's just as amazing.Ideal for today's digital music,these headphones provide deep bass,a bold midrange,and clear,undistorted treble so you can hear every detail.

Reply
2/19/2012 04:18:04 pm

<strong><a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats</a></strong> ports let you share mixes by daisy-chaining headphones,so others can you hear it in their cans.The
<a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats by dre</a> closed-back design provides long-lasting comfort and a high degree of natural. orange beats are the most widely used type of headsets of today.Although there are many other types with their own specific specialties and functions, orange beats seem to have branded the former at the top of their list.The <strong><a href="http://www.orangebeatsbydre.com/">orange beats by dre </a></strong>headphones have a smaller,lighter design than their big brother,but offer sound quality that's just as amazing.Ideal for today's digital music,these headphones provide deep bass,a bold midrange,and clear,undistorted treble so you can hear every detail.

Reply
4/4/2012 12:56:56 pm

As the world-leading wholesale <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">cheap clothes online</a> , we supply more than 100 thousand high-quality but cheap deisgner <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">clothing stores online</a> sale, all at wholesale prices. Begin online shopping now and start your wholesale sourcing here today. Experience professional service and quality products made in China today.in <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">cheap online clothing stores</a>, you just need to pay a portion of the price that you would pay for the same <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">cheap designer clothes</a> if you went to the mall, meanwhile, those clothings just look the same as those you pay much time to choose from the market.Buying <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">design clothes online</a> of course makes sense because you get to have more clothes with less money in our <a href="http://www.cheapdesignerclothesonline.net">cheap clothing stores</a>!

Reply
4/12/2012 11:56:46 am


Your blog is very beautiful, the style is very cool! See the things that I think is very interested in oh, thank you for sharing! I wish you good luck!

Reply
4/13/2012 01:21:38 pm

Good article is brought to share, see good article can always mood letting a person is cheerful, let oneself happy also to widen my view, to the thing understanding also have more understanding. Believe that will see more such a good article to share.

Reply
4/13/2012 01:22:00 pm

This is a great post ! it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later. I enjoyed every moment of reading it.

Reply
4/13/2012 01:24:30 pm

Very good article, not only feel good, I nearby of all the friends all say this is a very good article, the content of the novel, clear view, fully show the author rich writing ability and life experience, hope to see more of the good article to share.

Reply
5/9/2012 11:41:10 am

Modern city girl in early summer season like choose design grace, unique design of wide brim cap to assist modelling, choose to a top fashionable hat will not only for modelling brocade, still can bring good physical prevent bask in the effect.

Reply
5/21/2012 09:57:10 pm

<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">cheap jerseys</a>
<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">cheap youth jerseys</a>
<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">cheap nfl jerseys</a>
<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">cheap soccer jerseys</a>
<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">China cheap jerseys</a>
<a href="http://www.cheapjerseyswin.com/">cheap jerseys</a>

Reply
6/2/2012 03:43:23 pm

Extremely regularly I go to this website. It very a great deal is pleasant to me. Thanks the author!

Reply
6/3/2012 08:30:28 am

It's a good stage!

Reply
6/5/2012 05:32:04 am

I saw this actually excellent post these days!

Reply
6/6/2012 04:02:04 pm

I wanted to thank you for this great blog! I really enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.
http://www.jeremyscott2wings.com

Reply
6/11/2012 02:31:15 am

Very first factor , A large thank you for you to open my eyes.

Reply
6/12/2012 03:57:46 pm


The life of people, always has to avoid ups. Not always such as sun dongsheng, also won't always was painful. Repeated a float a heavy, to a person, it is tested. Therefore, float on it, and don't have to pride; Under the sink in, don't need more pessimistic. Must be blunt, modest attitude, optimistic and enterprising, forward.

Reply
6/13/2012 09:49:47 am

Curious to determine what all you intellectuals need to say about this?-?-.

Reply
6/18/2012 05:31:50 pm

I've always liked this guy, glad to see he is donating money to help move education forward. Too many celebrities and major companies today are too greedy to donate a cent.

Reply
6/20/2012 09:29:48 pm

This article may possibly be mentioned on Twitter by someone. genuinely?

Reply
6/22/2012 11:53:58 am

Learn to let his quiet, the thinking was down, slowly lowering the desire to things. The self often zero, every day is a new starting point, no age limit, as long as the things you desire the appropriate reduce, will win more chance to win.

Reply
7/9/2012 06:01:00 pm

Content is really write very well. I was deeply touched. Heart also understood the some sense. The subject of this article is very bright, the content is also very exciting. I will continue to focus on.

Reply
7/9/2012 06:02:04 pm

Very good article. Theme is very sure and clear. Truth is deep and it let the reader I much emotion. I want to be able to write such a good, is not easy to....... So I want to and the author make a friend, to study well.

Reply
7/9/2012 06:03:58 pm

Very logical structure, content and very full, the truth also is very deep. I see also very excited, so that I could run into such a good article, I will continue to read a lot of such articles, or full of your life.

Reply
7/26/2012 06:23:27 pm

Your article is very interesting and humorous. From your article, I can see the true meaning of the word happy. This article, I believe many people are helpful. Very fortunate to share this article to your. Look forward to your updates.

Reply
7/29/2012 06:10:23 pm

Nice article.Always nice to read some tips concerning the appearance of our blogs.
Wonderful articles, let me have to this admiration

Reply
7/31/2012 05:57:05 am

Thanks! it's helpful to me!

Reply
8/3/2012 10:08:35 am

There’s just no need for that! Make your way towards Levis.com and shop latest Levi’s collection with hard to pass by savings. This 25% off coupon is good through 07/14 only.

Reply
8/10/2012 05:21:20 pm

--!@zhanping Don’t forget that just a few coach outlet of water can sometimes ruin a phone.

Reply
8/16/2012 07:26:57 pm

Do you already know about the Chanel Handbags? Have you been coach outlet acquainted with probably Chanel Bags the most beautiful and revolutionary Coach Factory Outlet? If not, then allow us inform you louis vuitton outlet dears they are undoubtedly coach outlet store among probably the most prestigious sorts of Chanel Purses purses in the around the earth Michael Kors Purses market today. When we talk about the women's beauty, Chanel 2012 would stand among probably the most effective coach outlet store online purses indisputably. They are beautifulCoach Factory Outlet Online, ground-breakingMichael Kors Bags, lovingcoach handbags , and caring Louis Vuitton Outlet Online purses at all.

Reply
9/3/2012 04:32:48 pm

Usually, they do not give problems to the affected person, but as the size of the deposit increases or become sore, they will surely give serious pain. The following are the frequently asked questions and answers that can help explain the concept of calcium deposits.

Reply
9/28/2012 03:19:29 pm

There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this topic. I really like all of the points you have made.

Reply
9/28/2012 03:32:53 pm

I just keep on following the blogs on this site, I highly valued this article. Really remarkable! Thank you for sharing this article; I will share this to my friends having this site.

Reply
9/28/2012 03:50:30 pm

I truly appreciate this blog article.Thanks Again. Awesome.

Reply
10/6/2012 11:17:17 am

Clear.

Reply
10/6/2012 11:17:39 am

Perfectly-expanded.

Reply
10/10/2012 12:38:19 pm

Thanks for your free articles about Webinars and Training. Keep postings like this one.

Reply
10/10/2012 12:50:29 pm

Thank you for a awesome article.You have given me some ideas and a different way to to write articles rather than just plain text.

Reply
10/10/2012 01:01:09 pm

Good share,you article extremely great, extremely usefull for us.thank you.

Reply
6/14/2017 12:38:09 am

Very interesting article !!

Reply
6/20/2017 12:38:02 am

Very interesting article! Someone can be useful!

Reply
Emily
2/28/2019 07:54:45 pm

Just a quick note to tell the general public about a great man who brought my husband back to me after 11 years, his name is Dr. OKO. My husband was snatched from me by another woman when I went to see my sick mother, I came home to meet the house empty my husband was not at home, he wan’t picking call none will he call back. I was left alone with our 4 years old baby, he was gone for 11 years but just a month ago a friend of mine called me to tell about oko and she gave me his contact and I did contacted him and he told me my husband was with another woman. Also, he said he will bring back my husband within a few days, I thought it was a joke but behold my husband came home begging for forgiveness just as OKO promised. Off course I forgave my husband everything became normal even more that it was before. You too can be helped by him if interested through: [email protected] or call/whatsapp: +2348131684022.

Reply



Leave a Reply.